• Last modified 918 days ago (Dec. 2, 2020)


16 county players named all-league

Sixteen players from county teams received all-league football honors this week, with 6 players from Hillsboro netting Central Kansas League honors, while 10 players were tabbed for Wheat State League honors between Goessel, Peabody-Burns, and Centre.

Hillsboro had three players make CKL’s first team, with junior Frank Wichert named at wide receiver, senior Austin Rempel at defensive line, and Matthew Potucek at defensive back. Potucek also received second-team honors at quarterback, as well as Rempel at offensive line, and senior Dillon Boldt at kicker. Boldt received honorable mention for his wide receiver play, as did junior Tristan Rathbone at linebacker, and Frank Wichert at defensive back.

Goessel seniors Eddie Gaeddert, Nate Zogleman, and Luke Wiens were named to WSL’s first team, while sophomore Jake Wiens received honorable mention. None of the WSL honors were broken down by position.

Peabody-Burns also had three players make the WSL first team, juniors Noal Reynolds, Thomas Smith, and senior Gage Branson making the list. Junior Phillip Young received honorable mention.

Centre senior Lane Methvin made WSL’s first team as well, and junior Quintin Bina netted honorable mention.

Last modified Dec. 2, 2020