• Last modified 2615 days ago (Jan. 26, 2012)


6 file for election seats

Six applicants filed for two open Marion City Council positions before the filing deadline Tuesday.

Steve Smith and Bill Holdeman currently hold the positions. Smith filed for the election.

The other candidates are Lee Vogel, David Mayfield, Todd Heitschmidt, Jerry Dieter, and Richard Varenhorst. Because there are not seven or more candidates, a primary will not be necessary, Marion City Clerk Angela Lange said.

The general election will be April 3.

Last modified Jan. 26, 2012