• Last modified 1501 days ago (March 12, 2015)


6 students qualify for state chess

Marion schools had a number of students qualify for the state chess tournament, which is Saturday at Wichita North High School.

Marion chess players heading to state are Christian Becker, Drew Helmer, Cassie Meyer, Michael Nelson, Hap Waddell, and Larry Zieammermann.

Charlie Major and Taryah Miller also qualified, but will not be attending.

Hillsboro had 10 players qualify for the state tournament. Qualifying were Matthew Denholm, Jordan Fryhover, Franklin Jost, and Kalen Moss, Jacob Denholm, Abby Fryhover, Kayla Gunn, and Zachary Denholm.

Hillsboro tournament results

All chess players listed received medals at last Saturday’s tournament at Hillsboro High School.


K-3 division

Jessie Snyder, 10th place.

K-5 division

Tristian Dye, placed 8th; Jessica Arevelo, 9th; and Johnny Zieammermann, 17th.

K-8 division

Team placed third.

Individually, Christian Becker placed 9th; Hap Waddell, 18th; Cassie Meyer, 21st; and Larry Zieammermann, 24th.

Last modified March 12, 2015