• Last modified 827 days ago (March 16, 2022)


All-league teams announced

State champion Hillsboro and Hesston players dominated first-team selections for this season’s Central Kansas League all-league basketball team.

Trojan junior Brekyn Ratzlaff was a unanimous selection, and seniors Grayson Ratlaff and Matt Potucek also were named to the first team along with three Hesston players.

Two other Hesston players made the second team while Hillsboro senior Frank Wichert was one of 10 honorable mentions.

Among girls, Hillsboro and Hesston again dominated the first team, with Trojan sophomores Savannah Shahan and Zaylee Werth making the first team along with a Hesston senior.

Two Hesston players made the second team, but no additional Trojans were honored.

In the Heart of America League, Marion senior Jayden May was the sole local honoree. She was named to the second team for girls.

Several Wheat State League players also received all-league honors.

Senior Caiden Duerksen of Goessel made the first team, and senior Skyler Wuest received second team honors.

Seniors Carly Deines and Mikey Silhan of Centre, senior Philip Young of Peabody-Burns, annd sophomore Cheyenne Sawyer of Goessel received honorable mention.

Last modified March 16, 2022