• Last modified 2382 days ago (Feb. 9, 2013)


Basketball team from 70s to be recognized

Members of the 1972-73 Centre High School girls’ basketball team will be recognized Friday during halftime of the girls’ homecoming game against Wakefield.

Activities Director Greg Wyatt said he expects most of the members and the coach to be there.

The team is celebrating its 40th anniversary of finishing as the state runner-up.

They played in the first state title game of the first organized year of girls’ high school basketball following the passage of the Title IX law, which was signed by President Richard Nixon in June 1972.

The law stated, “No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any educational program or activity that has received federal financial assistance.”

According to Steven Farney, author of “Kansas Hoopla,” members of the squad were: Rosie Bina, Marsha Poppe, Janelle Poppe, Susan Bezdek, Sandy Chizek, Donita Buethe, Rhonda Swinney, LaVonne Tiede, Glenda Fike, Melony Beneke, Connie Bowman, Kathleen Bailey, Diana Edmonson, and Mary Lou Heiser.

Janet Mashak was their coach.

Last modified Feb. 9, 2013