• Last modified 77 days ago (March 14, 2024)


Broadcast executives honor Record

Joan and Eric Meyer were cited Saturday at the Watergate Hotel in Washington. for “exemplary service to journalism” for their “brave and defiant response” after police seized computers, cell phones, and more during raids Aug. 11 on the Record newsroom and at their home.

Joan Meyer died the next day from stress after the 2½-hour invasion of her home by seven law enforcement officers.

Other winners of awards from the Radio, Television, Digital News Association, the nation’s leading organization of broadcast news executives. were:

“Good Morning America” co-anchor Gio Benitez, “Meet the Press” moderator Kristen Welker, New Hamphire Public Radio senior reporter Lauren Chooljian, Spectrum News 13 photojournalists Jesse Walden and the late Dylan Lyons, Congressman Jamie Raskin, CNN chief international correspondent Clarissa Ward, imprisoned Wall Street Journal reporter Evan Gershkovich, CBS News president Ingrid Ciprian-Matthews, ProPublica, and WTVF Nashville chief investigative reporter Phil Williams.

Last modified March 14, 2024