• Last modified 2755 days ago (Sept. 8, 2011)


Burdick celebrates Kansas' birthday

Staff writer

It was a great day Monday to celebrate the 150th birthday of Kansas. For the first time in a long time, it was as comfortable in the sun as in the shade at the Burdick Labor Day celebration. The temperature was in the 70s after an unusually hot summer.

As usual, a large crowd was on hand to view the 60 entries in the 2 p.m. parade announced by Diana Jost.

Shawn Baird, Sid Wilkerson, and Barbara Kaiser judged entries.

Following the theme “Happy Birthday, Kansas!” the Burdick Hustlers 4-H Club won the $50 theme prize, with its display of a state of Kansas cutout bearing a purple ribbon.

A float by the U.S. Postal Service office at Lincolnville won the $40 judges prize with its plea to “Save the Post Office.”

Other prizewinners

Floats: 1. Burdick United Methodist Church. 2. Marion County 4-H Clubs.

Most humorous: Helen Ellington and her dog, Deedee, Wilsey.

Antique cars and trucks: 1. Keith Harsh. 2. Chris Stuchlik, Lincolnville.

Classic/collectible cars: 1. Judy Powell, Emporia. 2. Charles Stuchlik, Lincolnville.

Antique tractors: 1. Glenn Knute, Emporia. 2. Jerry Plett, Lincolnville.

Children’s entries: 1. Centre Girl Scouts. 2. Pritchard Sisters, Redding.

Miscellaneous: 1. Burdick Relay for Life. 2. Leroy Pritchard, Emporia.

Horses: 1. Burdick Riding Club. 2. Cottonwood Miniatures, Marion.

Horse-drawn entries: 1. Ralph Anderson, Council Grove. 2. Frank Buchman, Alta Vista.

Barbara Adam was the grand marshal. She rode on a float together with her two sons and their families in honor of her husband, George Adam Sr., who was wounded in the Vietnam War and received the Purple Heart. The veteran died April 9. The Adams have lived at Burdick for 37 years.

In a Little Kansas Royalty Pageant Sunday evening, Ellie Smith of Lincolnville was crowned queen and Max Cubbage of Park City was crowned king. They rode Monday in the parade.

Other queen contestants were Jorja Peterson, Emilee Remmers, Faith Love, Leia Cubbage, Samantha Engler, Rylee Karst, Preslee Karst, Jada Beck, Jessica
Williams, and Eleanor Silhan.

Other king candidates were Rigo Salazar, Matthew Basore, Kyle Weidenheimer, and Ethan McIntrye.

All participants were given a gold dollar coin.

Last modified Sept. 8, 2011