• Last modified 803 days ago (May 11, 2017)


Centre board approves transportation and technology

Staff writer

A new 60-passenger school bus and a Ford Expedition were approved for purchase Monday by the Centre board of education at a total cost of $118,777.

The board also approved $91,022 for new technology. The purchase included Chrome Books for seventh through 12th grade students and Mac Book Airs for teachers.

It also included 100 Chrome Books for the Kansas Online Learning Program along with a program named Absolute to track stolen devices. The process requires stolen computers to be reported to local police. They have 60 days to recover the computer, or the program will cover the cost.

Other expenditures approved

  • $7,499 for membership in and legal dues associated with Kansas Association of School Boards.
  • $6,789 for membership in Greenbush.
  • $13,036 for a K-6 math curriculum for kindergarten through sixth grade that uses print and digital methods of delivery.
  • $12,800 for new carpeting.
  • $9,923 for new double doors at east high school entrance.

Mark Heiser asked about overall expenditures.

“We’re funding a lot of projects,” he said.

Superintendent Susan Beeson assured board members that ample funds were available.

“We hired these people to do their jobs, and we need to trust them,” board president Rick Basore said.

The board approved a Memorandum of Understanding with the Marion County sheriff, attorney, and juvenile court services.

A $3,000 Loren E. and Clara Mowrer scholarship was approved for Brendon Bina.

Hayleigh Mendoza and twins Mariah and Michelle Brasch were approved for out-of-district attendance next school year.

The board accepted the resignation of teacher Wayne Rziha.

Jill Day was approved to continue as KOLP counselor.

Teachers whose contracts were renewed are Angela Basore, Marci Cain, Amy Carlson, Bethany Carlson, Ashley Coirier, Hillary Barlow, Phil Duerksen, Amy Harms, Julie Keithline, Laura Klenda, Gail Lorson, Brianna Methvin, Jonathan Meyer, Jennifer Montgomery, Karen Nickel, Janis Peterson, Tana Riffel, Kelly Steiner, Candace Tajchman, and Teresa Wells.

Contracts were ratified for new teachers Sherri Hudson, Sheldon Patton, John Seibel, and Brenna Pavluk.

Last modified May 11, 2017