• Last modified 2656 days ago (May 10, 2012)


Centre FFA holds banquet

Staff writer

At least 153 members and guests attended the Centre High School FFA banquet Thursday.

Chapter officers Theo Kassebaum, Carrie Carlson, Ty Simons, Shane Methvin, Makenzie Deines, and Tom Oborny conducted the meeting.

Members were recognized for their participation in chapter activities throughout the year. Fourteen first-year members received Greenhand degrees and 12 second-year members received Chapter degrees.

Two seniors, three juniors, seven sophomores, and 10 freshmen received scholarship certificates for maintaining a grade-point average of 3.5 or above.

Nellie Kassebaum received a chapter creed-speaking award. She received first place in south central district competition earlier this year and will compete at the state convention.

Justin Deines was the top fruit salesman, followed by Karl Riffel, Brenna Shields, and Kevin Lewis.

Chapter Star Greenhand awards went to Cassidy Hill in placement (sheep) and Jared Barney in production (sheep).

Tom Oborny was named Chapter Star in Ag Placement for work he does for his father, David. Carrie Carlson was named Chapter Star Farmer, She has 21 feeder steers and swaths and bales hay during the growing season.

State degrees were awarded to Theo Kassebaum, Brian Burhoop, and Carrie Carlson. To receive their degrees, they each had to earn at least $2,000 and work at least 300 hours.Proficiency Awards

Tom Oborny — ag mechanics design and fabrication. He was also the district winner.

Chad Mueller — beef production entrepreneurship (E), dairy production, and diversified livestock production.

Justin Deines — diversified ag production (E), and grain production (E).

Karl Riffel — diversified ag production in placement (P), and forage production, goat production, swine production (E). He was the District Star Greenhand in production.

Tanner Brunner — small animal care.

Cassidy Hill — sheep production.

Jared Barney — sheep production (E).

Timothy Vinduska, turf grass management (E).

Grant Srajer — wildlife production and management.


More than $4,000 in scholarships was awarded as follows:

Centre FFA Alumni Association — Danielle Spohn, Theo Kassebaum, and Shane Methvin.

Leo S. Jirak Memorial — Shane Methvin.

Cooperative Grain and Supply/Central National Bank Ag — Danielle Spohn and Shane Methvin.

Ford Motor Co.-Dick Edwards Auto Plaza, Junction City — Theo Kassebaum.

Evancho Memorial — Theo Kassebaum.

Anonymous FFA alumni — Danielle Spohn and Shane Methvin.

James Weber Memorial — Shane Methvin.

A $1,000 grant from Straub International to help members with their student agricultural experience was divided among Kailyn Riffel, Conner Montgomery, Chad Mueller, and Callie Riffel.

Cary and MaryAnn Granzow, Mike Beneke, and Peggy Falen received honorary membership in Centre FFA.

The new officers installed for the 2012-13 year were Carrie Carlson, president; Tom Oborny, vice president; Makenzie Deines, secretary; Ty Simons, treasurer; JayCe Johnson, reporter; Justin Deines, sentinel; historian, Anna Weber; and parliamentarian, Nellie Kassebaum.

This was the first year for Mark Hager as a Centre FFA adviser.

“This is a good chapter, like I thought it would be,” he said. “Cary Granzow did a good job. Our pre-enrollment is up, so it’s going to be another good year next year.”

Laura Klenda is the other FFA adviser.

Last modified May 10, 2012