• Last modified 1124 days ago (May 19, 2016)


CHS students applauded at awards night

Staff writer

Scholastic and athletic awards were presented to Centre High School students May 9.

New inductees into the National Honor Society and chosen as new officers were Max Svoboda, vice president; Cole Srajer, secretary; Kate Basore, treasurer; and Grace Peterson, student council representative. Dylan Deines will serve as president.

The same four students will serve as officers for the Future Business Leaders of America chapter. In addition, Meghan David will be secretary, and Hannah Peterson will be parliamentarian.

Scholastic awards went to Abigail Svoboda, Dale Dennis Award; Allison Basore, highest honors; and Kristin Vinduska, CHS citizenship.

Those receiving scholarships from colleges were Barrett Smith, Tabor; Allison Basore, Olin; Abigail Svoboda, University of Kansas; and Carissa Shields, Whitney Gutsch, and Kristin Vinduska, Kansas State University.

The district-owned Mowrer Farm provided income for two-year Loren E. and Clara Mowrer Memorial Scholarships to Svoboda, $2,500; Vinduska, $2,500; Allison Basore, $1,500; Gutsch, $1,500; and Carissa Shields, $1,500.

Other scholarships

Adam Makovec: Centre Education Foundation.

Carissa Shields: Centre Education Foundation, Hillsboro American Legion, Robert Kleinschmidt Memorial, Mowrer.

Kristin Vinduska: Hillsboro American Legion, POE, John F. Reznicek Memorial, James Weber Memorial, Marion County Farm Bureau, Mowrer.

Allison Basore: Hillsboro American Legion, TCT’s Foundation for Rural Service, Florence Masons, Sons of the American Revolution, Walgast, Mowrer.

Whitney Gutsch: PEO, James Weber Memorial, Legacy, Kansas Grain and Feed, Mowrer.

Abigail Svoboda: Tri-County Telephone, Kansas State Bank, Mowrer.

James Mercer: Navy engineering.

Nathaniel Engler: Walgast.

Last modified May 19, 2016