• Last modified 2665 days ago (March 29, 2012)


City elections are Tuesday

The cities of Marion, Hillsboro, and Burns will have city council elections Tuesday. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Jerry Dieter, Todd Heitschmidt, incumbent Steve Smith, Dick Varenhorst, and Lee Vogel are running for two Marion City Council positions, currently held by Smith and Bill Holdeman. The council positions are for four-year terms.

Incumbents Shelby Dirks and Byron McCarty are running unopposed for two-year terms on Hillsboro City Council.

Burns has no candidates filed to fill three two-year council positions, currently held by Daniel S. Huls II, Steve Cheuvront, and James Scott.

Poll sites

  • Marion: Emmanuel Baptist Church, 229 N. Walnut St.
  • Hillsboro: Hillsboro City Building, 118 E. Grand Ave.
  • Burns: Burns Community Center, 301 N. Washington.

Last modified March 29, 2012