• Last modified 1988 days ago (Feb. 6, 2014)


College News in brief

Deines gets civic leadership scholarship from K-State

Centre High School senior Makenzie Deines of Ramona received a $500 competitive scholarship from Kansas State University as one of 12 finalists for the university’s Civic Leadership Scholarship.

The scholarship competition rewards students who develop projects with lasting effects on the people they serve.

April Kreutziger completes master’s degree

April Kreutziger of Marion was one of 366 students to receive a master’s degree in December from Bellevue University in Bellevue, Neb. Kreutziger received a master’s degree in public administration.

Students receive K-State semester honors

Kansas State University recognized more than 3,500, including many from Marion County, for honors for the fall semester. To receive semester honors, a student must complete at least 12 hours with a 3.75 or higher grade point average.

Semester honors

Florence: Jaclyn Deforest.

Goessel: Hannah Franzen.

Hillsboro: Candace Jost, Bailey Kaufman, Aaron Klassen, and Taylor Nikkel.

Lehigh: Neal Kaiser.

Lincolnville: Carrie Carlson and Taylor Harms.

Marion: Jacob Ehrlich, Samuel Ehrlich, Louis Holt, Evan Just, Tristen Snelling, Derek Stuchlik, Eric Vogel, and Julia Zeiner.

Peabody: Brandee Burnett, Broderick Kyle, and Shelby Unruh.

Ramona: Sheila Makovec.

Tampa: Matthew Klenda and Nathan Unruh.

Last modified Feb. 6, 2014