• Last modified 1064 days ago (Aug. 25, 2021)


Collett, Robson finalists for judge positions

Marion lawyer Susan Robson and former Marion lawyer Keith Collett are among five finalists selected Wednesday for two district judge positions.

Collett, who left Marion County to become a magistrate judge in Dickinson County in 2012, is a finalist for both positions.

Robson is a finalist only for the position that requires a winning candidate to move to or live in Marion County. The other position requires residency only within the judicial district, which includes Dickinson, Geary and Morris Counties.

Other finalists for the position with the more general residency requirements are Krista Blaisdell, county attorney for Geary County, and Laura Viar, county attorney for Morris County.

The other finalist for the Marion County position is Douglas Jones, a former Cottonwood Falls lawyer who has been a district magistrate judge in Chase County since 2008.

The five were chosen Wednesday after a day of interviews with the 8th Judicial District Nominating Commission.

Governor Laura Kelly has 60 days to decide which of the finalists will be appointed to the vacancies, which were created by the retirements of Judge Steven Hornbaker and Chief Judge Michael Powers of Marion.

The two who are selected will face a yes-or-no retention vote in the next general election before, if retained, serving a four-year term.

Each county in the district has two representatives on the nominating commission. Marion County’s representatives are attorney Edwin Wheeler Jr. and non-attorney Daryl Enos.

Last modified Aug. 25, 2021