• Last modified 1233 days ago (Feb. 3, 2021)


Conservation district celebrates 75 years

The Soil Conservation Service was established as a federal agency in 1935. A year later, states were given authority to establish county conservation districts, and Marion County SCS was formed. In 1994, SCS became the Natural Resources and Conservation Service.

Because of COVID-19 restrictions on large gatherings and food events, Marion County Conservation District will not have its annual district banquet this year. The district is celebrating its 75th anniversary with newspaper recognition of all of its Banker’s Award recipients.

At least 300 landowners and farm operators are recognized for completion of conservation programs. They are listed elsewhere in this newspaper.

The Banker’s Award is sponsored by Kansas Bankers Association. Nominations are made in each district of people who have completed outstanding work in energy conservation, water quality, water conservation, soil conservation, windbreaks, or wildlife habitat on their farms.

Members of Marion County Conservation District are encouraged by district manager Lori Siebert to clip out the board of directors ballot in this newspaper and mail it or drop it off at the office at 303 Eisenhower Dr., Marion KS 66861.Votes will be counted at the regular board meeting at 7:30 a.m. Feb. 16.

Last modified Feb. 3, 2021