• Last modified 757 days ago (Aug. 30, 2018)


County Democrats attend Wichita meeting

Several county Democrats attended a meeting Aug. 24 to 25 in Wichita. Special speakers included former Virginia governor Terry McAuliffe, U.S. Senator Amy Kloburhar, and Kansas gubernatorial candidate Laura Kelly.

The county group met Aug. 11 in Marion and approved financial support for Kelly and Jo Schwartz. Schwartz is a candidate for representative of Kansas’ 70th district. She will return to Marion Sept. 21.

Ed Wheeler was appointed by chairman Eileen Sieger as precinct committee chairman for Marion North. Susan Mayo was appointed as committee chairman and Nasir Islam as precinct committeeman for Catlin Township.

Reorganization of county Democrats will be done after the general election in November.

The next meeting will be Oct. 6 at Marion Community Center.

Last modified Aug. 30, 2018