• Last modified 1907 days ago (June 4, 2014)


FFA members compete at state

Many local FFA members competed in various events last week at the State FFA Convention at Kansas State University. Some members walked away with several awards and scholarships.

Carrie Carlson of Center was honored as she finished her term as the state FFA vice president.


Vance Klassen of Hillsboro and Cade Harms of Marion-Florence were named to the state FFA chorus directed by Zac Malcolm of Clay Center. They were part of two performances during the convention on May 28 and Friday.


Aidan Cairns of the Marion-Florence chapter was named to the state band and preformed in two concerts at the convention on May 28 and Friday.

Public speaking

Heath Goertzen of Goessel placed fourth in a public speaking contest where he had to talk about a the impacts of climate change on agriculture production after only 30 minutes to prepare.

Nicholas Meyer of the Marion-Florence chapter placed third in a prepared public speaking contest.


Members of the Centre FFA chapter took second place in the scrapbook competition on Thursday. The scrapbook showed the chapter’s accomplishments and activities during the previous year.


Meyer, Clint Kroupa, and Alicia Maloney earned state proficiency awards for their work in developing programs that will prepare them for careers in agriculture.


Mackenzie Deines, Kevin Lewis, Grant Srajer, Bryanna Svoboda, and Timothy Vinduska of Centre and Clint Kroupa, Caitlyn Maloney, and Meyer all received state degrees, which is the highest honor the Kansas FFA Association can bestow.

Members earning degrees have been FFA members for two years, earned at least $2,000 or worked 600 hours in an agricultural experience program, as well as academic stipulations, and community involvement.


Ty Simons of Center and Cody Delk of Hillsboro each received a $1,000 scholarship from Ford.

Meyer received a $1,000 scholarship from Orscheln Farm and Home Stores for his work in farm-related activities, community involvement, and scholastic achievements.

Meyer and Bret Voth of Marion-Florence received scholarships from the Universal Technical Institute for placing in the top three in the agricultural mechanics career development event at state.

Justin Deines of Centre, and Chase Meisinger and Ethan Oborny of Hillsboro each received a scholarship from the National FFA Foundation, which awarded $133,000 in scholarships to Kansas FFA members this year.

Cassidy Hill of Centre received a scholarship from Kansas FFA Alumni to attend the Washington Leadership Conference this summer at Washington, D.C.

Last modified June 4, 2014