• Last modified 1509 days ago (June 3, 2015)


FFA members get top awards

Staff writer

Two FFA members from Marion County received top awards last week at the Kansas FFA State Convention in Manhattan.

Based on his accomplishments in a supervised agricultural experience, Raleigh Kroupa of Marion won the state FFA diversified crop proficiency award in entrepreneurship.

He raises wheat, soybeans, and milo on 30 acres of rented land and harvests hay from a 50-acre meadow. Using equipment owned by his parents, William and Linda Kroupa, he pays all costs.

Nellie Hill of Centre won the state star in ag placement award. Her supervised agricultural experience was as an employee in sheep production.

Working at Stardust Sheep Farm of Lincolnville, she learned farm management techniques, time management, sheep quality assurance skills, and responsibility. She plans to become a veterinarian. Teresa and Kevin Hill are her parents.

Nicholas Meyer of Marion presented a retiring address to complete his year of service as state FFA sentinel.

During the year, he attended leadership workshops, helped lead a state conference for chapter leaders, and attended the national FFA convention as a state delegate. He traveled across the state for various chapter workshops, recruitment activities, banquets, and awards ceremonies.

He will be a sophomore at Kansas State University majoring in agricultural and biological engineering.

Nine members received state FFA degrees. Recipients from Centre were Jared Barney, Cassidy Hill, Nellie Kassebaum, Callie Riffel, and Kailyn Riffel; from Goessel, Connor Davis; from Hillsboro, SaRae Roberts; and from Marion-Florence, Raleigh M. Kroupa and Bret D. Voth.

Elizabeth Meyer of Marion placed second in extemporaneous public speaking. She placed fourth in prepared public speaking.

Centre chapter reporter Kristin Vinduska submitted the chapter’s scrapbook, which took second place. The Centre chapter was awarded a silver for its activities.

Aidan Cairns of Marion-Florence was a member of the state FFA band, and Vance Klassen, Callie Meisinger, and Savannah Unruh participated in the state FFA chorus.

Ford Trucks scholarships were awarded to Nellie Kassebaum of Centre and Jesse Meier of Hillsboro. Kansas FFA alumni awarded a scholarship to SaRae Roberts of Hillsboro.

Last modified June 3, 2015