• Last modified 58 days ago (May 22, 2024)


Final touches being put on Grand Prix racetrack

Staff writer

In the final days before Sunday’s Florence Grand Prix motorcycle race, volunteers are feverishly completing every detail of its racetrack.

Five hundred twenty racers from several states are registered for the event.

The track, 100 miles long, loops through Florence and a small portion of the county.

The course crosses Yarrow Rd., which could mean closing the road Sunday or having a flagger at the crossing. A portion of 130th Rd. will be closed because racers will use part of it.

The race will start at Main and 3rd St., wind through city streets and into the county, then finish back on Main St.

Some streets will be blocked off.

A vintage bike race will start at 10 a.m. Sunday and last one hour.

It will include nine classes: post-vintage 1979 to 1985; vintage open 1974 and older; historical open 1075 to 1978; 250 vintage 1974 and older; 250cc historical vintage 1975 to 1978; 0 to 200cc vintage 1974 and older; 0 to 200 cc historical vintage 1975 to 1978; powder puff 1985 and older; and XR 200 and like.

A modern bike race will start at 1 p.m. Classes include pro, A, B, team, 40-plus ABC, 50-plus ABC, C, and women.

Riders must enter both races to qualify for an iron man award.

Gate entry fee is $10. The city is selling admission buttons.

Spectators will not be allowed on the “race side” of streets.

Camping will be available at the Florence football field for $50. Reservations are being accepted at

Parking will be available on side streets as long as cars do not block driveways.

A food court will be set up at 5th and Main Sts. Western Associates will sell commemorative T-shirts.

“Once the race starts, no one should cross the course,” secretary Patty Putter said.

The original Florence Grand Prix was in 1972, when the city celebrated its 100th anniversary. The race was revived in 2021.

Flint Hills Bent Rims officers are Bruce Skiles, president; Tobe Moore, vice president; Patty Putter, secretary; Mike O’Dell, treasurer; and Ben Bowers and Jim Crofoot, board members.

Last modified May 22, 2024