• Last modified 637 days ago (Oct. 26, 2022)


Judicial panel picks magistrate finalists

The nominating commission of 8th Judicial District, which includes Marion County, has selected three finalists for a district magistrate position.

After interviewing the candidates Nov. 18 at the Morris County courthouse, the commission will forward recommendations to the governor for appointment.

The successful candidate will replace Margaret White when she retires Jan. 1 as Morris County district magistrate.

Magistrates and judges must reside in specific counties within the district but often hear cases in other counties.

Magistrates need not be lawyers but must pass a test of legal knowledge within 18 months and stand for election one year after their appointment on whether they should be retained in office.

The three finalists are:

  • Jay Troxell of Council Grover, owner of Tiptoz Dance Co. LLC.
  • Laura Viar of Council Grove, Morris County attorney.
  • Ryan Young of Council Grove, detective sergeant with the Morris County sheriff’s office.

The nominating commission includes two members from Marion County — an attorney, Edwin Wheeler, and a non-attorney, Daryl Enos.

Powers honored

A conference room in Geary County courthouse has been renamed in honor of retired Marion County judge Michael Powers.

Powers, who retired in August 2021, was the longest serving chief judge of the 8th Judicial District, serving 28 years.

The district includes Geary, Dickinson, Marion and Morris Counties.

Geary County commissioners will have a ceremony at 11 a.m. Friday renaming the room as “Honorable Michael F. Powers Conference Room.”

Last modified Oct. 26, 2022