• Last modified 1599 days ago (April 8, 2015)


Kraus wins USD 408 race

News editor

Newcomer Nick Kraus and incumbent Duane Kirkpatrick won contested races for Marion-Florence school board in Tuesday’s election, in which just 14 percent of registered voters cast ballots.

Kraus easily defeated Alex Haines, 192-88, for Position 2. Kirkpatrick, who trailed challenger Lori Kelsey in advanced voting, won the Position 3 contest 146-139.

Timothy Young, Position 1, and Jeremiah Lange, Position 7, won uncontested races.

Centre school district also had two contested races.

Jesse Brunner defeated Amber Peterson in the Position 1 race 25-20. Position 3 was decided by two votes, with Terry Deines defeating Michelle Hajek 32-30.

Mark Heiser, Position 1, and Anita Svoboda, Position 7, won uncontested races for the Centre board.

Write-in candidates received winning vote totals in more than 15 races, most of which were uncontested. County Clerk Tina Spencer declined to release names until the votes are canvassed and certified Friday. She said write-in winners can decline to serve.

City races

Joseph Vinduska won one of three spots for Linconville city council, while at least two individuals had write-in votes.

No one filed for Lost Springs mayor, but one individual received 12 of the 22 write-in votes cast, Spencer said.

Write-ins were the two top vote-getters for five Lost Springs council positions, while Jessica Moenning and Joseph Zinn appear to have secured enough votes for council seats.

Byron Noeth won an uncontested race for Ramona mayor, and Ben Calvert, Amber Lopez, Arthur Stroda, Alan Svoboda, and James Thompson were elected to the city council.

Tampa will have to wait to know who its new mayor might be -- one individual received 24 of 26 write-in votes. No one filed to run for the position. Ty Peterson won one of two city council spots.

Last modified April 8, 2015