• Last modified 863 days ago (May 8, 2019)


Marion-Florence FFA chapter honors members

The Marion/Florence FFA chapter held a banquet May 2 for parents, members, and employers.

Members were recognized for their activities and given numerous awards. Devin Soyez was recognized as the Chapter Star Farmer and Mickelly Soyez was recognized as the Star Chapter Greenhand.

Proficiency award winners were Peyton Ensey, beef production and turfgrass management; Tristan Williams, equine science; and Devin Soyez, sheep production, turfgrass management, and wildlife management.

Special chapter awards were given to Cassie Meyer, first place; Peyton Ensey, second place; and Devin Soyez, third place.

Appreciation certificates were given to Prairieland Partners, Hillsboro Industries, Don Molleker, Eileen Schmidt, Salem Cairns, Carlson’s Grocery, Allen and Jenny Stapleford, Chuck and Lori McLinden, Jodi Watkins, Mark Slater, Glenn’s Feed Store, and Gambino’s Pizza for their assistance to the chapter during the year.

Marsha Meyer and Ashley Lauinger were named honorary chapter FFA degreem recipients.

Officers for 2019-2020 were elected and installed. They include Peyton Ensey, president; Cassie Meyer, vice president; Gracie Mackey, secretary; Colton Boudreaus, treasurer; Mickelly Soyez, reporter; Karlee Fetrow, sentinel; and Lane Watkins, parliamentarian.

Kristin Isle, the current State FFA Treasurer, was featured speaker for the evening.

Last modified May 8, 2019