• Last modified 369 days ago (July 18, 2018)


july 16, 2008

Jessica Vogel, Marion, has been selected as one of the 128 graduating Kansas high school students to receive the new Senator Robert Dole Public Service Scholars award for the 2008-2009 year. She plans to attend Washburn University and study music education.

Pictured are four area Boy Scouts who attended Camp Kanza June 29-July 1. They are Jarett McLinden, Riley Hake, Tyler Palic, and Quentin Stuchlik.

Marion Junior Girl Scouts will celebrate their winning of a Bronze Award for helping to improve their community and world with an overnight trip to Kansas City and Worlds of Fun. Troop members are Bethany Whisenhunt, Sydnee Baldwin, Monica Harrison, Elizabeth Meyer, Kristen Herzet, Morgan Radtke, Megan Richmond, Kirsten Hansen, Rachel Neal, Courtney Williams, Sarah Tajchman, Brittany Whisenhunt, and Lauren McLinden. Lori McLinden is the troop leader.

Al and Darlene Sondergard, longest-married couple at Ramona, were chosen as grand marshals of that town’s 4th of July celebration.

Hillsboro American Legion post won the district tournament this weekend and heads into the state tournament at Garden City this weekend. Three Marion boys, Wil Case, Calvin Jeffrey, and Brian Fruechting, are members of the team. The team has an eye-popping 23-1 record heading into the tournament.

Last modified July 18, 2018