125 years ago
july 4, 1890
Marion is to have a sort of double-barreled celebration today. The managers of Chingawasa Springs having announced weeks or perhaps months ago, that they would “celebrate” at the splendid resort, have secured a fine assortment of fireworks, Chinese lanterns, balloons, etc. In the meantime, the regular town celebration will “go off” in that gem of woodlands—Central Park, These two celebrations need not conflict. There are people and attractions enough to make them both a success. Each will doubtless contribute to the success of the other by stimulating a generous rivalry. “Let joy be unconfined.”
Loveless & Sacket are the first to meet the farmer’s just demand for hitching facilities, by the erection of some handsome iron posts with iron-rod connections. Let others do likewise.
Mrs. Smith has moved her millinery establishment from the YMCA building into a room just west of the RECORD office. Sandwiched between a bank and a millinery store, the RECORD is in mighty tony company.
Let every church, Sunday school, temperance organization or other organization in sympathy with the purposes of the convention elect three delegates each to attend the great temperance convention to be held in Topeka July 16.