140 years ago
april 12, 1878
The Centre House, under the management of Mr. Levi Billings, is doing a big business and gaining a good reputation. The house is taxed continually to its utmost capacity with transient custom and “regular boarders.” We are glad that Mr. Billings is meeting with such good success. A good hotel is a public necessity, and every citizen of the place should feel a personal interest in assisting Mr. Billings in building up and maintaining a first class hotel here.
The Register of Deeds office is adorned with a new sign.
Eldorado boasts of two stores lighted with gas. Marion Centre has long had a store and a dwelling lighted with gas, and never made much ado about it, either. “Big things” are so common up here.
First street, north of Main, has been graded. A great improvement.
Corbett & Wendell, the new mail contractors between this place and Florence, have commenced carrying the mail, having purchased the remnant of Capt. Pike’s time under contract. Corbett & Wendell now make two trips a day, connecting with both the morning and evening trains. This will be a great convenience to our people.
Frank Bower, our popular Postmaster, served under the gallant officer who will tell the people at Florence to-morrow night all about “Sherman’s March to the Sea.”
Jack Widmeyer, the boss painter for this section, has recently done some very nice lettering for the Bank of Marion Centre.