• Last modified 2065 days ago (Nov. 26, 2013)


december 7, 1988

Jenny Groening and Josh Cooper, fifth graders at Marion Elementary, are pictured as they water a Capital Pear tree at the school. The students care for the trees as part of conservation project that began last year when they began collecting aluminum. Money from the recycling effort went toward several other plants around the school.

Warren Weibert of Oberlin, a native of the Tampa community, has been elected president of Kansas Livestock Association.

Pictured are members of this year’s Lady Warriors basketball team: Iris Shanklin, Melissa Ramsey, Merri Greene, Michele Baldwin, Mickey Druse, Angie Bina, Ruby Goering, Jennifer Thole, Nicki Swift, Tara Abbott, Melanie Kraus, Kristy Herbel, Steph Burkholder, Robin Summervill, Charlotte Thies, Tamara Stenzel, Alison Ogden, Sheri Plenert, and Brenda Bina.

Mayor Martin Tice announced Monday that he will not seek reelection this spring. The popular mayor who has served for the past three years was recently named fiscal officer for Marion Unified School District.

Marion High School’s creative writing class has produced the third volume of “The Writer’s Cramp,” a literary magazine featuring the work of students. Staff members are Laura Jackson, student editor; Shannon Connell, Gina Hardey, Vicki Kay Hartley, Amanda McLinden, Sara Lou Mills, Robin Monroe, and Kristal Turner.

Last modified Nov. 26, 2013