• Last modified 1303 days ago (Dec. 23, 2015)


december 19, 1990

Marion Chamber of Commerce has announced winners of this year’s residential Christmas lighting contest. They are Martin Jantz, 234 Thorp, first place; Clinton Jackson, 400 N. Cedar, second; and John Bezdek, 225 N. Freeborn, third.

Don Buethe of Lincolnville is the 1990 recipient of the Marion County Extension Council’s appreciation award.

“West Wing” is no longer the name of the nursing home section of St. Luke Hospital. Residents and staff members of the nursing home now proclaim the new name, “St. Luke Living Center.” Ken Vinduska, one of 116 persons entering suggestions, submitted the winning entry. He will receive a cash award of $100 for the suggestion.

Suzie Martin, daughter of Raymond and Gloria Martin of Ramona, and Sara Mills, daughter of Randy and Judy Mills of Florence were selected as the winners of the “I Dare You” award at the 1990 4-H Achievement Banquet.

Bown-Corby second grade students, Stacey Longhofer, Heath Tajchman, and Heather Tajchman, with help from kindergartener Jeremy Longhofer are pictured as they check out mittens hanging on a tree at the elementary school. Mittens will go to Marion Christmas for Kids, to help those less fortunate this Christmas.

Last modified Dec. 23, 2015