• Last modified 2528 days ago (May 17, 2012)


may 24, 1962

The “Over 500 Club,” the name adopted for the new organization formed through the efforts of Golden Years, Inc. will soon have a downtown clubroom and meeting place. Officers elected Wednesday night were Claude Ayler, president; George McCulloch, vice president; and John Ely, secretary-treasurer.

A “percussion trio” from Marion’s Junior High School entertained Marion Kiwanis Club on Monday. The young musicians presented an enjoyable program. They were Mary Westerhaus, Rodney Oelschlager, and Pat Warneke.

Graduation exercises were held in the Pilsen Grade School Tuesday evening. Graduates were Jane Ann Bina, Danny Holub, Donna Holub, Regina Holub, Mark Klenda, Lenora Rudolph, Mike Spachek, and Terry Steiner.

Rex Siebert of Marion was a winner at the annual Flint Hills Hereford Association Field Day last week, near El Dorado. Siebert’s winning animal was in a female show class.

Commencement exercises for members in the Class of 1962 at Tampa High School include Leroy Schwartzman, Tom Murphy, Leon Mueller, Francis Jirak, David Frantz, L.J. Bezdek, Loretta Moffitt, Judy Novak, Joleen Commerford, Annita Bentz and Dennis Klenda. Valedictorian of the class is Leroy Schwartzman. Co-salutatorians are Annita Bentz and L.J. Bezdek.

New teachers hired this week for the coming term in the Marion public schools include Conrad Steinel, Paul Flaming, David Robinson, Bruce Sloan, Blaine Babb, Richard Heaton, and Wilma Ewert.

Last modified May 17, 2012