• Last modified 1506 days ago (March 5, 2015)


march 4, 1965

At the Boy Scout “Court of Honor” Tuesday evening Tenderfoot badges were given to Billy Finke and Mike Bredemeier; Second Class badges to Steve Fillipp and Richard Wiebe; and First Class badges to Lance Alexander, Charles McElwain and Terry Plenert.

Five Marion County farmers were honored for outstanding soil conservation work Thursday night at the annual Kansas Bankers Association dinner. The five winners are James Peters of Lehigh, Allen Pankratz of Hillsboro, Arnold Hartke of Lincolnville, Isaac Wiebe of Durham, and Charles DeForest of Peabody.

Miss Janice Hoffman, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. LeRoy Hoffman of Marion, received her cap Feb. 28 in capping exercises at Newman Memorial Hospital School of Nursing.

The Marion Warriors wowed the fans with a spectacular ending to an overtime game Friday night, winning the district championship by defeating Lindsborg 49-48. Bryan Alexander was the hero of the game, sinking the victory field goal with the final gun sounding while the ball was in mid-air. Jackson was high man of the game with 17. Marion’s Schimpf had 11, Post 6, Ensey 5, and Soyez and Alexander 4 each.

James William Miesse Post 22, American Legion, is planning a big birthday celebration in conjunction with the 46th anniversary of the national organization. The event will be March 13 at the local Legion building.

Last modified March 5, 2015