• Last modified 983 days ago (Dec. 8, 2016)


december 15, 1966

The 1966-67 edition of the Marion County School Directory shows the number of operating school districts is greatly reduced from last year because of consolidation. In 1965, there were 19 organized school districts. This year there are only six.

First prize in last Thursday’s children’s Christmas drawing, a bicycle, went to Greg Carlson. Second prize, a baby angel set, went to Carol Colburn. Third prize, a switch and go model tank, was won by Charles Tajchman. And, roller skates, fourth prize, was won by Derald Bezdek.

Adah McGranor was six Dec. 8 and was honored with a birthday party at her home. Little friends who helped her celebrate were Lisa Harshaw, Lori Harris, Mary Kay Waner, Tammy Hiebert, and Patrice Ewert.

Mrs. Randolph Carpenter was named this week as honorary chairman of the inauguration of Governor-elect Robert Docking. The event will take place Jan. 9.

Marion’s FFA livestock judging team placed first at the Kansas Angus Futurity contest Saturday in Hutchinson. Team members consisted of Don Kraus, Chuck Seifert, Ronnie Kreutziger, Terry McCoy, and Bill Schimpf. Jon Thole is their instructor.

The annual New Year’s Day coyote hunt in the Youngtown area will be held again this year — on Monday, Jan. 2. The event is sponsored by Happy Hustlers 4-H Club.

Last modified Dec. 8, 2016