• Last modified 2586 days ago (May 17, 2012)


MHS seniors honored at awards ceremony

Staff writer

USD 408 Performing Arts Center was packed Thursday with families, friends, and well-wishers there to honor the achievements of the Marion High School Class of 2012.

Students received recognition for their participation in school activities and academic achievements from MHS sponsors, faculty, and staff. Academic letters were awarded to 35 seniors. Taylor Harms, Beth Nesser, Jessie Taylor, and Annie Whitaker were fourth-year letter recipients.

A total of 22 locally-funded scholarships established to honor former students, area families, and community members, and to support students in their pursuit of higher education were awarded.

The MHS Coaches Scholarship program recognized 42 former and current students as scholarship recipients.

Members of the class of 2012 who will be attending college have been awarded a total of $110,899 in scholarships for their freshman year. If they continue meeting the requirements of their scholarships throughout their college years, the total scholarship awards would $337,748. This does not include the value of full tuition and job placement for two students joining the military.

The awards ceremony was accompanied by vocal and instrumental music performances and a display of MHS student art in the lobby.

Class of 2012 future plans
and scholarships

Students are listed in alphabetical order, in the following manner: name, college/military/work, major, scholarships.

Mikael Antoszyk, Wichita State University, sports management.

Christopher Cardenas, Flint Hills Technical College, engineering.

Caroline Collett, University of Kansas, theater, Chris Hauser & Sons Memorial Scholarship; Marion High School Alumni Scholarship.

Jack Crayton, U.S. Air Force, educational value of full tuition and job placement.

Ashley Garth, Manhattan Technical, College, accounting.

Whitney Gordon, University of Wyoming, business, basketball and academic scholarships, $20,000 per year.

Kadecha Gueary, Hutchinson Community College, nursing, track, $3,712 per year for 2 years.

Lakisha Hammon, Butler County Community College, undecided.

Taylor Harms, Kansas State University, agriculture communications, KSU Achievement Award, $1,375 per year; KSU Agriculture Achievement, $2,500 per year; AFA, $3,200; Kansas Junior Livestock, $2,500; KSU Alumni Association, $1,000; MKC, $500; Elks Local, $300; Elks State, $600; Shelter Insurance Scholarship.

David Helmer, St. Charles Community College, business management.

Miller Hendrix, Manhattan Christian College, youth ministry, MCC Trustee Scholarship, $2,500 per year for 4 years; MCC Camp, $1,000; Timothy Days, $500.

Cory Hiebert, entering the work force.

Josh Hiebert, North Central Kansas Technical College, electrical technology, NCKTC Scholarship, $500.

Colten Johnson, Kansas State University, architectural engineering, Elks, $250; Dr. John Barr, $500; Hillsboro American Legion, $500; Corey Darrow Memorial Scholarship.

Scott Jones, Kansas State University, business, Wambsganss Family Memorial Scholarship; Tampa State Bank Scholarship.

Andrew Kjellin, Kansas State University, music education, Vocal Music, $1,000 per year; Chris Hauser & Sons Memorial Scholarship.

Drew Knolla, Emporia State University, secondary education, ESU Hornet, $1,000; ESU Foundation, $2,800 per year for 3 years.

Dakin Ledford, Butler County Community College, welding, Howard and Connie Schlotterbeck, $2,000 per year.

Cole Lewman, Sterling College, business management, football, $9,000 per year.

Elizabeth Nesser, Tabor College, secondary education, Tabor Presidential Leadership, $16,000 per year.

Megan Overton, Hesston College, nursing, St. Luke Hospital & Auxiliary, $1,125; Hesston Deans, $6,000 per year for 2 years; Hesston Alumni $1,100.

Ethan Pontious, Flint Hills Technical College, industrial engineering.

Justin Rahe, Emporia State University, elementary education, ESU Academic, $1,900 per year; Wayne Colle, $500; American Legion, $500; Local Elks, $300; J.L. and Ada Fruechting Memorial Scholarship.

Laura Robinson, Butler County Community College, nursing.

Royce Ross, U.S. Marines, educational value of full tuition and job placement.

Andrew Schaefer, Flint Hills Technical College, construction technology.

Jeffrey Silhan, Salina Vocational Technical College, automotive mechanics.

Victoria Steiner, Butler County Community College, ultrasound technician.

Samantha Stika, Brown Mackie College, veterinary technology, Brown Mackie Presidential, $1,000 per year for 2 years.

Nichole Stukey, Butler County Community College, physical therapy.

Jonathan Tacha, Hutchinson County Community College, general studies, Football, $3,712 per year for 2 years.

Jessie Taylor, Virginia Commonwealth University, visual arts, VCU Academic, $5,000 per year.

Connie Thorne, Hutchinson County Community College, psychology.

Jonathon Vogel, North Central Kansas Technical College, electrical engineering, NCKTC Scholarship, $750.

Jared Vondenkamp, Lincoln College of Technology, pipeline welding, Welding Scholarship, $1,000.

Sierra Webber, Wichita Area Technical College, dental assisting.

Annie Whitaker, University of Kansas, physical therapy, KU Rock Chalk Academic, $1,000 per year; Local Elks, $250; Longhofer Peace & Justice, $500, St. Luke Hospital & Auxiliary, $1,125; J.L and Ada Fruechting Memorial Scholarship; Key Club Scholarship; Tampa State Bank Scholarship.

Alexis Young, Collin Community College, undecided.

Olivia Young, Collin Community College, art.

Last modified May 17, 2012