• Last modified 2510 days ago (Sept. 5, 2012)


Self-advocate group wins award

Harvey-Marion County Self Advocates received the “Outstanding Self Advocate Group” award at the 2012 statewide conference of the Self Advocates Coalition of Kansas.

The award was in recognition of the group’s campaign to change the terms “mental retardation” and “mentally retarded” with “intellectual disability” and “people with intellectual disability” in state legislation. The group began a letter-writing campaign in 2011. Gov. Sam Brownback signed the change in law April 26.

Receiving the award on behalf of Harvey-Marion County Self Advocates were Chris Brown of Newton and Jennifer Dies of Hillsboro.

Last modified Sept. 5, 2012