• Last modified 1094 days ago (June 16, 2016)


Two commissioners face challenges

News editor

Four challengers await commissioners Dan Holub and Randy Dallke in the Republican primary Aug. 2. Theirs will be the only contested positions on the ballot.

Brett Hajek of Lost Springs and Michael Beneke of Lincolnville will try to oust Holub from the 2nd District seat.

Dallke faces opposition in the 3rd District from Stephen Rose of Peabody and Amy Soyez of rural Marion.

Courney Boehm of Hillsboro is running unopposed for county attorney, a position held by Susan Robson since 2000.

Robson wants to move closer to her mother, who lives in Ellsworth.

Jo Ottensmeier is retiring after 18 years in the deeds office, the past eight as register. Deputy Rebecca Wingfield is the only candidate who filed to replace her.

Clerk Tina Spencer, Treasurer Jeannine Bateman, and Sheriff Robert Craft have no opponents.

No Democrats filed. Independent candidates have until Aug. 1 to file petitions to run in the November general election.

For Congress, Sen. Jerry Moran and Rep. Tim Huelskamp have challengers in the Republican primary. D.J. Smith of Osawatomie filed for senator, and Roger Marshall of Great Bend is running for representative.

Two Democrats, Monique Singh of Kansas City and Patrick Wiesner of Lawrence, filed for senator.

State senator Richard Wilborn and state Reps. John Barker and Don Schroeder are running unopposed in the primary.

Last modified June 16, 2016